Inviting Nominations for Distinguished Service Awards 2017

shruti_28751's picture
Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 10:15
Announcements Details: 



Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur wishes to recognise the contribution of its alumni through the Distinguish Service Award (DSA) during Annual Alumni Meet.  The Institute is, therefore, interested in receiving fresh nominations in respect of individual alumnus/ alumna for consideration for the award in 2017. Nominations received over the past two years shall also be considered for the award in this year.


Nominations in prescribed format may be submitted by past Distinguished Service Awardees, Senate Members, Life Fellows, Alumni Foundations / Associations through their President. Nominations must reach the Dean of Alumni Affairs & International Relations latest by 28th April 2017, Friday. Electronic copies of the nomination papers should also be submitted by email to It may not be possible to consider nominations received after this date for the current year. However, those will be carried forward for consideration in future.


Download DSA Nomination Form



An alumnus/alumna, who is an employee of IIT Kharagpur, shall not be eligible for the award during his/her service period except when he/she has accomplished exceptional achievements.



The following aspects will be considered among possible others while assessing the roles and contributions of the Nominee:

·         Service to the Alumni Chapters / Foundations.

·         Activities involving alumni and other stakeholders of the Institute

·         Resource generation  for the Institute

·         Academics and Research of the Institute

·         Student / faculty life

·         Recognitions received within the Alumni fraternity.


Process for Selection

Nominations shall be shortlisted by a Screening Committee (SC) chaired by the Dean (AA & IR).The Standing Committee chaired by the Director shall consider all eligible nominations as well as recommendations from the Screening Committee and make final recommendations to the Board of Governors for approval.


Past Awardees


Name Year Name Year
Balbir Kumar Mathur 2016 Varadarajan Seshamani 2016
Rajendra Kumar Khanna 2016 Parvati Dev 2016
Joyjit Nath 2016 Nirmal Kumar Bhardwaj 2016
Abhijit Ray 2016 Shailendra Kumar 2016
Indramohan Asthana 2016 Veerendra Kumar Jaitly 2016
Pronob Kumar Guha 2011 Louis Dasilva Roy 2011
Jaideep Sarkar 2011 Shyamal Roychoudhury 2011
Yatindra Pal Singh Suri 2011 Dharam Vir 2010
Ramnath S Mani 2010 Puran Chand Dang 2010
Arvind Jain 2010 Sundar Mohan Murmu 2010