Alumni Honour Teachers at IIT Kharagpur

Faculty Awards.jpg

In an initiative to recognize faculty excellence at all levels of the career path of a teacher, alumni of IIT Kharagpur have instituted several Chair Professorship Awards and Faculty Excellence Awards for senior, mid-level as well as newly joined faculty members.


The awards were conferred on the occasion of the Annual Alumni Meet which ended on January 14, 2018. The awards were instituted by alumnus Shri Ranbir (Ron) Singh Gupta on behalf of alumnus Avinash Gupta, alumnus Prof. Vijay Madisetti in the name of his parents M A Ramulu, former deputy director of IIT Kharagpur and Mrs. Saroja Ramulu, and alumnus Shyamal Ghosh and his wife Sunanda Ghosh and the IIT Kharagpur Alumni Foundation India.


The award recipients were Dr. Subrata Chattopadhyay, Professor, Department of Architecture & Regional Planning for the Avinash Gupta Chair Professorship, Dr. Jayanta Bhattacharya, Professor, Department of Mining Engineering for the M. A.