Alumni Funded Centre of Excellence Inaugurated


IIT Kharagpur inaugurated the Asoke Deysarkar and Ruma Acharya Centre of Excellence in Petroleum Engineering


The Centre which received a seed funding of USD 1 million from the alumni after whom it has been named, was inaugurated on October 24, 2016 at the Acharya Prafulla Chandra Roy Science Block. The pivotal course of the Centre, Transdisciplinary Programme on Petroleum Engineering (TPPE) was launched earlier this year for students opting for 5 and 6 year B.Tech.- M.Tech. and M.Sc.- M.Tech Dual Degree programmes. Already nine 2nd year students have enrolled for this programme. More students are expected in the next academic year. The studentson completion of their B.Tech. or M.Sc. will have the opportunity to do M.Tech. in Petroleum Engineering.


“India needs