Distinguished Service Award

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur wishes to recognize its alumni for providing outstanding service to the Institute. The Institute is interested in receiving fresh nominations in respect of individual alumnus/ alumna for consideration for the award in 2017. Nominations received over the past two years shall also be considered for the award in this year. The Distinguished Service Awards 2017 will be conferred during the 15th Annual Alumni Meet in January 2018.
Nominations in prescribed format may be submitted by past Distinguished Service Awardees, Senate Members, Life Fellows, Alumni Foundations / Associations through their President. Nominations must reach the Dean of Alumni Affairs & International Relations latest by 15th November 2017, Wednesday. Electronic copies of the nomination papers should also be submitted by email to deanaa@hijli.iitkgp.ernet.in with the subject line ‘DSA Nomination 2017’. It may not be possible to consider nominations received after this date for the current year. However, those will be carried forward for consideration in future.
Any alumnus/alumna may be nominated. However, an alumnus/alumna, who is an employee of IIT Kharagpur, shall not be eligible for the award during his/her service period except when he/she has performed exceptional service to the Institute.
The following aspects will be considered among possible others while assessing the roles and contributions of the Nominee:

  • Service to the Alumni Chapters / Foundations.
  • Activities involving alumni and other stakeholders of the Institute
  • Resource generation for the Institute
  • Academics and Research of the Institute
  • Student / faculty life
  • Recognitions received within the Alumni fraternity.
Process of Selection
Nominations shall be shortlisted by a Screening Committee (SC) chaired by the Dean (AA & IR).The Standing Committee chaired by the Director shall consider all eligible nominations as well as recommendations from the Screening Committee and make final recommendations to the Board of Governors for approval.