Alumni Honour Teachers at IIT Kharagpur

In an initiative to recognize faculty excellence at all levels of the career path of a teacher, IIT Kharagpur has announced Chair Professorship Awards and Faculty Excellence Awards for senior, mid-level as well as newly joined faculty members.
The Institute has announced two Chair Professor Awards for senior Professors and seven Faculty Excellence Awards for 2017. The latter includes three Associate Professors and four Assistant Professors two of them having recently joined the Institute.
Awards are based on student feedback on teaching, peer recognition through national and international awards, research output such as papers and citations, doctoral guidance, research and development activities in terms of sponsored research and industrial consultancy, patents and technologies developed etc.
“Such recognition of faculty excellence not only leads to higher motivational factor among the academic community but also helps students’ excellence and promotes the Institute’s brand thus attracting brighter students” said Prof. P P Chakrabarti, Director, IIT Kharagpur.
Nominations received by the Institute were thoroughly screened, reviewed by experts at multiple levels and final selection was made by an apex committee comprising of eminent, external experts.
Based on same criteria, IIT Kharagpur has also selected three senior faculty members for endowed Chair Professorships which are supported by alumni and industry. 
“The Institute honoured its faculty members in recognition of their excellence in teaching and research. We hope more such awards will be announced with the help of alumni and industry in future” said Prof. Subhasish Tripathy, Dean Faculty at IIT Kharagpur.
Alumni Honors Teachers