IITKGP Confers Distinguished Alumnus Award 2017

Kharagpur, August 6, 2017: IIT Kharagpur honoured fourteen alumni with the Distinguished Alumnus Award in the 63rd Convocation of the Institute scheduled on August 5 and 6.

The awardees are renowned experts in their respective domains and reached the pinnacle of excellence in addition to associated and community services, which brought them this highest honour from their Alma Mater IIT Kharagpur. The profiles included top academicians and scientists in India and abroad, entrepreneurs, civil servant, journalist-cum-novelist.

Among the awardees from academia and research were Prof. Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay, Director, Indian Statistical Institute, Dr. Arun Kumar Bhaduri, Director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, Dr. Brajendra Mishra Director of the Metal Processing Institute at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Dr. Subhasis Chaudhuri, distinguished Professor at IIT Bombay, Dr. Sujit Banerji is an educationist and researcher, Executive Director at WMG Education, University of Warwick, Dr. Amitabha Ghosh, Scientist at NASA, associated with the Mars Mission.

To honour the exemplary achievements of the young entrepreneurial alumni from IIT Kharagpur, the Institute conferred the award on Shri Boddu Aneesh Reddy, Co-founder & Chief Executive Officer, Capillary Technologies and Ms. Anuradha Acharya, CEO of Mapmygenome India. While Capillary is one of India’s top 5 software product companies with over 800 employees spread across 10 offices globally, Mapmygenome is a Genomics company introducing the concept of improved healthcare through personal genomics in India with the vision is “To touch100 million lives”. Among the outstanding contributors from the industry are Shri Anand Sen, President TQM & Steel Business, Tata Steel and Rear Admiral Shekhar Mital (Retired, Indian Navy), Chairman and Managing Director of the Defense PSU Goa Shipyard Ltd.

The award list included exemplary achievers who have touched people from every walk of life such as Shri Surajit Kar Purkayastha, IPS, Director General of Police, West Bengal, Raj Kamal Jha, Chief Editor, Indian Express, Dr. Ruma Acharya, US-based entrepreneur, philanthropist and community leader and Dipak Basu, Founder and Chairman of Anudip Foundation, a social enterprise employing technology in humanitarian missions worldwide.

The awards were presented on August 6, on the second day of the Convocation. 12 out of 14 awardees received were present to recieve the award while the degree recipients cheered through the ceremony.