Alumnus Prof. Kalyanmoy Deb honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award for Citations Impact

Alumnus Prof. Kalyanmoy Deb (B.Tech./Mechanical Engineering/1985), faculty at Michigan State University, has recently been conferred the "Lifetime Achievement Award" by Clarivate Analytics (formerly the Intellectual Property and Science business of Thomson Reuters, and owner of Web of Science) at the Citation Awards 2017 for making maximum impact based on a citation analysis of three of his papers during 2010-2016. He is the first-ever recipient of this award. One of Dr. Deb's papers has passed 10,000 citations by Web of Science and is ranked 174 among all papers published in all science disciplines together since 1900.
The award citation reads as follows: "Professor Deb is recognized for research on multi-objective optimization using evolutionary algorithms, which are capable of solving complex problems across a range of fields involving trade-offs between conflicting preferences. A 2002 paper, with more than 10,000 citations, ranks among the 200 most-cited papers recorded in the Web of Science, 1900-2017, and is by far the most influential paper ever produced by an Indian scientist, as reflected by citations." The event was graced by various dignitaries from India and abroad. They included Dr. R. Chidambaram (Principal Scientific Officer to Govt of India), Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe (Chairman of AICTE), Jessica Turner (Global Head of Govt and Academia, Clarivate Analytics), David Pendlebury (Bibliometric Expert, Clarivate Analytics) and Mr. Arvind Pachhapur (South Asia Head, Clarivate Analytics).
Prof. Deb is Professor at three departments at Michigan State University and also an endowed chair professor of the Electronics Communication Engineering department. Prior to that, he was a professor in the Mechanical Engineering department at IIT Kanpur. He holds an Adjunct Professor position at the Department of Information and Service Economy at Aalto University School of Economics, Helsinki, Finland. In addition, he is a Velux Foundation Guest Professor at the Technical University of Denmark. Deb did his PhD in Engineering from the University of Alabama. He was a Visiting Research Assistant Professor in the Department of General Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign between and worked at the Illinois Genetic Algorithms Laboratory (IlliGAL).
Prof. Deb is the author of more than 280 research papers, two textbooks and 17 edited books. His 2001 book, Multi-Objective Optimization Using Evolutionary Algorithms, is the first ever compilation of multi-objective optimization algorithms. He is a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), Indian Academy of Sciences (IASc), and International Society of Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (ISGEC). Professor Deb is also on 18 international journal editorial boards including IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation, Evolutionary Computation (MIT Press), Engineering Optimization, Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines and others. He is the only Asian Executive Council Member of the International Society for Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (ISGEC).

Prof. Deb is also the Winner of the Infosys Prize 2011 for Engineering and Computer Science for his contributions to the emerging field of Evolutionary Multi-Objective Field Optimization (EMO) that has led to advances in Non-linear constraints, decision uncertainty, programming and numerical methods, computational efficiency of large-scale problems and optimization algorithms. He is the recipient of numerous other awards, including the Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant award for two consecutive years at Alabama, the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences in 2005, the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award and Humboldt Fellowship from Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, the Distinguished Alumnus Award from his Alma mater IIT Kharagpur in 2011, Cajastur Mamdani Prize for Soft Computing from European Center for Soft Computing in 2011, and the Thomson Citation Laureate Award, an award given to an Indian Researcher for making the most highly cited research contribution during 1996-2005 in a particular discipline according to the ISI Web of Science.