2 Faculty Members from IIT KGP wins National Geoscience Award

Following the honours for a faculty member of IIT Kharagpur for predicting earthquakes in the Himalayan and Terai regions, two more faculty have been awarded this year’s National Geoscience Award. The awardees are Dr. Abhijit Mukherjee, Assistant Professor at the Dept. of Geology & Geophysics and School of Environmental Science and Engineering and Dr. Dewashish Upadhyay, Assistant Professor in the Dept. of Geology and Geophysics.

Dr. Abhijit Mukherjee has been honoured for his research related to understanding of the geological and physico-chemical aspects of groundwater flow in porous aquifers, quantification of groundwater storage and recharge, and identifying source and transport of contaminants [mostly arsenic], and their effects on human society. He has developed the first regional groundwater flow model of the western Bengal basin and explored arsenic-safe aquifers in extensive parts of the Gangetic plains and delta in wide parts of eastern India.