Last date extended till 31st March to receive nominations for Young Alumni Achiever Awards 2019

IIT Kharagpur invites nominations for the Young Alumni Achiever Award to recognize young and promising alumni who have achieved great success and recognition in their chosen profession. The Young Alumni Achiever Awards serve as an opportunity for current and future students to be inspired by their seniors who have achieved notable success following graduation. 

The Young Alumni Achiever Award will recognize alumni age 40 or younger who have demonstrated emerging and unique innovation, creativity, and success in his or her chosen career. Selections are based on success in chosen careers; however, a demonstrated commitment to excellence in IIT Kharagpur and opportunity for future involvement may also be considered.   


Any person who has received a degree from the Institute is eligible to be considered for the Young Alumni Achiever Award, except in the following cases:

A.      An alumnus/alumna should not be more than 40 years of age

B.      An alumnus/alumna, who is an employee of IIT Kharagpur, shall not be eligible for the award during his/her service. 


The alumnus or alumna selected must meet the following criteria:

·         Excelled early in life and shown potential for continued success.

·         Received recognition as an emerging leader through professional and/or community achievements.

·         Attained increasingly responsible positions within their organization, business or field of work.

·         Received recognition for significant professional contributions, discoveries or creative work through honors, awards and/or media attention.

·         Served as an outstanding young role model for current and future IIT Kharagpur students.


Eligibility Criteria for Proposer/Seconder: 

Nomination in prescribed format may be submitted by past Distinguished Alumnus Awardees, Young Alumni Achiever Awardees, Distinguished Service Awardees, Senate Members, Life Fellows, Alumni Foundations/Associations through their President. Self-nomination will not be entertained.

Click to download the nomination form

How to nominate

Nominations must reach the Dean of Alumni Affairs latest by 31st March 2019 at
Dean, Alumni Affairs
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Kharagpur, India - 721302

Electronic copies of the nomination papers should also be submitted by email to with the subject line 'YAAA 2019 Nomination'. It may not be possible to consider nominations received after this date for the current year. However, those will be carried forward for consideration in the future.

Process for Selection

Nominations shall be shortlisted by a Screening Committee (SC) chaired by the Dean (AA) to be constituted with the approval of the Director. The SC will make a panel of such reviewers, preferably amongst past Distinguished Alumnus Awardees, for the purpose. Shortlisted nominations shall be peer reviewed. Based on the recommendations of the peer reviewers, the SC will make a recommendation for consideration of the Standing Committee. The Standing Committee will normally comprise Director as the Chairman, Deputy Director, Dean (AA), Dean (F) as members and 2 (two) External Experts. The Committee will follow the guidelines of YAAA selection considering all eligible nominations and their recommendations of the peer reviewers as well as the recommendation of the Screening Committee and make final recommendations to the Senate and the Board of Governors for approval.